1-Databases: Home

Databases A to Z

Databases A to Z Main

 
Database Description
ABI /INFORM Complete (ProQuest) A comprehensive business database with full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and more. ABI/INFORM Complete consists of: ABI/INFORM Global™ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry™ABI/INFORM Dateline ™ABI/INFORM Archive™ The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Accounting & Tax (ProQuest) This is the quintessential accountant's database. It brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Annual Reviews Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Art Full Text Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
ARTstor ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, libraries, photo archives, scholars, artists and artists’ estates, and photographers. Image collections in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Asian Business & Reference (ProQuest) This database focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLSerials ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA’s online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
B
Banking Information Source (ProQuest) This database enables you to search essential banking industry publications for information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends
Bartleby.com – Great Books Online Classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference. Featured titles include Gray’s Anatomy, The Harvard Classics & Shelf of Fiction, and The Holy Bible. Many resources for fiction, nonfiction, verse, and reference. BHA and RILA Two databases searchable together, which cover European and American visual arts material between 1975 and 2007.
Biography in Context Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts. Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO) Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
Buros Mental Measurements Online index to reviews from the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Complete set in print is available in the Lee and Jim Vann Library reference section. Most tests have two reviews by two independent reviewers, and will contain descriptive information and an evaluation of the test’s technical properties.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
C
Choice Reviews Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains: Author Affiliations, Searchable Cited References, Research Instruments, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Search Strategies.
Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCO) Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse information needs of today’s companies. This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Counseling & Therapy provides a large and rich collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Students and scholars can study, observe, and experience a wide variety of different therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in their field.
Credo Reference Credo Reference is an online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Credo Reference includes content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips. The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics and titles to give you accurate, contextual results. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
D
Directory of Open Access Journals The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) aims to be comprehensive and cover all free, full text, open access, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in this directory. DOAJ aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 5268 journals in the directory. Currently 2192 journals are searchable at article level. Coverage includes all scientific and scholarly subjects. Types of resources: scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full text. Sources: academic, government, commercial, and non-profit private sources.
E
ebrary Academic Complete ebrary Academic Complete is a continually growing e-book collection spanning all academic subject areas.
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary eBook Collection) Search and view the full text of eBooks.
EBSCOhost Databases EBSCOhost multiple databases. To search within a single database, select a database name from the list. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Encyclopedia of Social Work New 20th ed. edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
Entrepreneurship (ProQuest) This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
ERIC (EBSCO) ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
ERIC – Education Resources Information Center (USDE) The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources.
F
Films on Demand Video and multimedia, films for higher education.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
G
Google Scholar Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
H
Health and Wellness Resource Center Quick links to hot topics and top-searched conditions as well as diseases and overviews. Top medical journals, periodicals, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds, full-text reference works, and Streaming video with transcripts from Healthology, Illumistream, NBC and live links to ORLive.
Health Business FT (EBSCO) This database provides full text coverage for more than 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more.
Health Reference Center Academic This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac’s award-winning Health Reference Center™
Health Source Consumer (EBSCO) This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing (EBSCO) This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
I
Informe (Gale) Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines — not just translations.
INSPIRE Indiana’s Online Research Library. When you need reliable, verifiable, quantifiable, accurate information, go where the experts go. INSPIRE offers magazines, books, encyclopedias, and other resources to all Indiana residents. Research current events, science, business, health, notable people, hobbies, and much more from your library, school, home or office. Unlimited users.
INSPIRE Testing and Education Reference Center Whether it’s preparing admission materials or getting a heads-up on preparatory tests, the Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) is INSPIRE’s online tool designed to help students — from high school to graduate school to specialty school and beyond — prepare to make their further education decisions easier. Over 100 practice tests and courses, information on over 4,000 accredited schools, career research resources, and more.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
J
JSTOR JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
L
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis Academic provides access to news, legal, business, and company information. NEWS resources include; full text of newspapers, magazines, and newswires from the U.S. and around the world, broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio stations, campus news, including the Chronicle of Higher Education and nearly 300 individual college/university papers, and Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch and other foreign-language newspapers and magazines. LEGAL resources contain comprehensive coverage of US federal and state case law and statutory law, law review articles, legal news, Shepard’s Citation service for all federal and state cases, patents from 1971 forward, and more. BUSINESS resources include Company Dossier service, including detailed financial and operating data on over 43 million US and international companies, business and trade publications, company information, including Hoover’s Company Reports, Disclosure reports, Standard & Poor’s Corporate Descriptions, and SEC filings.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
LItFINDER Locate citations, excerpts or full-text of stories, poems and essays. Also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
M
MAS Ultra School Ed (EBSCO) Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MedlinePlus (NLM/NIH) Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), government agencies, and other health-related organizations.
Merck Manual Professional Version First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Merck Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Merck Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government (EBSCO) Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Military and Intelligence Database The Military and Intelligence Database periodical list has been hand-selected by Gale editors to meet the content needs of libraries serving military personnel. Additionally, the product includes some basic reference materials that are updated annually: The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Morningstar® Investment Research Center offers public, corporate, and academic libraries real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. Investment Research Center serves all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.
N
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Nursing Resource Center Building on Gale’s reputation for providing award-winning health materials, Nursing Resource Center fills the void of an online resource for beginning LPN, LVN, ADN, RN and BSN students nationwide. Created in close collaboration with nursing instructors and students and the librarians that support them, Nursing Resource Center takes textbooks and curricula into account and presents students with information that mirrors the “nursing process” — a workflow that organizes how students diagnose, treat and care for patients — as it is taught in the classroom.
O
Oxford Art Online Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford English Dictionary Online The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Music Online With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.
Oxford Reference Online Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
P
Primary Search (EBSCO) Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProCon.org ProCon provides free, unbiased, and sourced information so people can better understand important social issues and make better informed decisions about them. ProCon presents controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan way to promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship.
Professional Development (EBSCO) Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Project Gutenberg This collection is based on documents produced by Project Gutenberg. Founded by Michael Hart in 1971 with the aim of distributing a trillion (1,000,000,000) electronic literature files by the year 2001, Project Gutenberg has evolved into an on-going project to produce and distribute free electronic editions of literature. The literature carried by Project Gutenberg is typically out of copyright and includes many historically important documents (especially American ones) and much ‘fine literature’ (Shakespeare, Dickens, etc). Project Gutenberg unashamedly aims at the low end of the quality-price spectrum, aiming to publish as many titles as possible for the lowest price rather than high-quality expensive editions.
ProQuest Business Collection The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence based resources, video, dissertations, reference books, and more. Subject areas include: Nursing; Allied health; Physical therapy; Occupational therapy; Cytology; Histology; Physiology; Anatomy; Gerontology; Geriatrics; Orthopedics; Traumatology; Radiology; Diagnostic imaging; Nuclear medicine; Nutrition; Dietetics; Dental hygiene; Rehabilitation; Nuclear medicine.
PsycArticles (EBSCO) PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycBOOKS (EBSCO) PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of over 30,000 chapters in PDF from nearly 2,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It also includes close to 1,500 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycTESTS (EBSCO) The PsycTESTS database includes ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA features instruments that are relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more.
PubMed PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
R
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
RSC Journals RSC Publishing is one of the world’s leading scientific publishers, offering an exceptional range of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, databases and publishing services to the chemical science community.
S
Science In Context Science Resource Center is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Three core, proprietary reference titles and more than 40 additional proprietary reference titles offering subject-specific topic overviews, biographies, science experiments, and more. 200 full-text science magazines, offering both general and scholarly resources. More than 8,000 multimedia records, including pictures, illustrations, audio clips, and video clips. Links to 520 Websites, all chosen for their authoritative content and relevancy to the curriculum.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA) The SORA project is an open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 14,636 conference papers.
STAT!Ref SR Online allows you to chose from and cross-search 300 + titles many of which are included on Doody’s Core Title List (DCT). Combined with resources such as MedCalc 3000 and Evidence Alerts, STAT!Ref Online is the go-to resource for anyone in the healthcare industry.
T
Teacher’s Reference (EBSCO) Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Teaching Books TeachingBooks.net an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children’s and young adult books. This online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Testing and Education Reference Center Whether it’s preparing admission materials or getting a heads-up on preparatory tests, the Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) is INSPIRE’s online tool designed to help students — from high school to graduate school to specialty school and beyond — prepare to make their further education decisions easier. Over 100 practice tests and courses, information on over 4,000 accredited schools, career research resources, and more.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO) TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Trip Database Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support practice and/or care. Trip includes other content types such as images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Right-hand Buttons

Library Hours

M-Th 7:30 a.m.- 10 p.m.
Fri 7:30 a.m.- 5 p.m.
Sat 10 a.m.- 6 p.m.
Sun 12 noon - 10 p.m.

Send us your comments!

Additional Links

University of Saint Francis - 125 Years

Contact

Lee & Jim Vann Library

Pope John Paul II Center

First and Second Floor

Room 102 & 202

260.399.8060